Vegan for My Heart’s Health

I went to my doctor’s on Friday and found that, despite both of my parents having high blood pressure, I have perfect results. One doctor’s reaction to my B.P. was actually: “Well, not going to die from that!” My cholesterol is equally as impressive, as are my body fat percentage and overall health.

MSN Health & Fitness connects this and more to the fact that I eat a vegan diet:

“Vegetarians are at lower risk of developing cardiovascular disease and dying of ischemic heart disease,” says Sarah Trist, a clinical dietitian at Children’s Hospital in Seattle. “They have lower blood pressure, and lower cholesterol levels of LDL or ‘bad cholesterol.’ They are less likely to be overweight or obese and have lower rates of type-2 diabetes, diverticular disease, gallstones, as well as some cancers including prostate and colorectal cancer. It may also be beneficial in the early stages of renal disease, protect against dementia, and slow the rate of bone loss women experience after menopause.”

And we’re not talking a few percentage point differences, but 25 percent to 35 percent less risk.

But of course, as the mama has always said, and as this article agrees, “everything in moderation.” Every diet has potential to go healthy or not.

As a friend and former six-year vegetarian once said to me: “I was a bad vegetarian. People always questioned why I was overweight if I was a vegetarian. Didn’t you know that potato chips are vegetarian?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

