A Look Back at My First 5k

Nowadays, it’s not uncommon for me to run 3 races a month. But just a few years ago, on May 10, 2009, I set out to run my first 5k ever. I sat down after my race and blogged about it. Here’s my post-race feeling from my first 5k:

I woke up just past 5 a.m. to meet up with friends and head out to the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5k run in Philadelphia. It was the first run where I ran the whole thing! With a brief pit stop at the one-mile porta-potties, I still came in just at 30 minutes.

In the past, getting up this early and expending this much energy would have required I nap the rest of the day, but not anymore! After a short recoup on the couch, I headed into town with my roommate. A few errands and some grocery shopping later, we ended up tiring of waiting for the bus and walked the mile and a half home … where we made awesome vegan pizza from scratch!

I followed the same pizza dough recipe for my bread maker that I have used in the past, only with a bit of rye flour, garlic powder, and dried oregano mixed in. I rolled it out as flat as I could, covering a rectangular baking sheet, and topped it with pesto, slices of fresh tomato, and sauteed portabello mushrooms.

Once we devoured the pizza, setting aside a few slices for lunch tomorrow, my roommate served a locally made shoo fly pie – that just happened to be vegan – that she found at a farmers’ market. Being the weekend between our birthdays, we stuck a few candles in it and sang to ourselves before devouring that, too.

With a belly full of delicious veg food and feet that never want to walk again, I am sure to sleep well tonight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beginner Exercise, Running

Leave a Reply

