My First Week of 2012: Rest, Recovery and Only 6 Miles

My first week of 2012 was a tough one: I overtrained myself at the end of 2011 and have a tiny, nagging strain in my hamstring that I am babying in hopes of avoiding further injury. I decided that my “resolution” for the new year was going to be to track all of my miles run throughout the year. It was frustrating to make this decision and then have to take time off and have what I considered to be a lazy rest week.

I ran in a track tournament last Friday, but then managed to find the self control to spend the next three days without working out at all. It took a lot of willpower to fight my fitness addiction, but I did it. On Tuesday, I met with my running coach and tried to workout with the team. I had to stop early because my left leg was just too tight and started hurting. Wednesday, I kept it light with some easy weight training and 30 minutes on the Precor AMT, an elliptical that allows more motion freedom and is perfect for lower impact running. After some chiropractic and acupuncture care, I was able to run 5 good 600s on Thursday. Today, I rest; tomorrow, I race.

Not counting my Precor workout, I logged a measly 6 miles.

But everyone, even the most athletic of us, have to start somewhere.

1 Comment

Filed under Athletes, Equipment and Gear, Running

One response to “My First Week of 2012: Rest, Recovery and Only 6 Miles

  1. Pingback: The Week That Ended on Friday the 13th | Sally Andersen Fitness

Leave a Reply

