A Day on My Plate: What I Ate from Breakfast to Dessert

Since I talked about breakfast yesterday morning, let’s talk about the rest of the day in food, too.

Did you get hungry before lunch? I did. I made myself a smoothie with a blend of fruits, spinach, flax seeds, water and a little protein powder.

You should be hungry for a good lunch about 4 hours after breakfast. As a runner, I need lots of carbs and try to get them in earlier in the day so that I’m not going to sleep with a belly full of pasta. For lunch, I had whole wheat pasta with sauteed veggies, topped with a little olive oil and spices, including the must-taste, very good for you nutritional yeast.

Afternoon snack comes right before or after my afternoon workout and is always a Clif Bar.

Dinner for me comes after a good workout, so I refuel with more protein. I try to avoid frozen, processed “fake meats” so usually this means beans or high-protein veggies like broccoli. Yesterday I made tofu scramble for dinner, crumbling and sauteing tofu with peppers, spinach, tomatoes, onions, garlic, and some other spices.

I needed a little more before going to bed so I had peanut butter, banana, dark chocolate chips and a little almond milk. Usually I’d blend these ingredients with ice for dessert, but since it was so cold, I ate them like cereal.

Eat up! Remember that eating too little can be just as bad as eating too much, and it’s all about quality over quantity. When you fill up on vegetables and fruits, you can eat more than if you waste calories on pastries and cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Nutrition, Veganism

2 responses to “A Day on My Plate: What I Ate from Breakfast to Dessert

  1. Doris Andersen

    Dear Sally Fitness,

    What kind of protein powder is considered the best?

  2. Pingback: No Whey Protein Powders | Sally Andersen Fitness

Leave a Reply

