Can a Sprinter Become a Half Marathoner in Just 6 Weeks?

I haven’t seen Kristie in several years. This year, as we both turn 30, we made a promise to each fly to the other for their birthday. I failed. Her birthday was in January, right in the middle of the Colgate Games track tournament that I was running in.

She understood and asked if, instead, I would come down in March and run her first half marathon with her. I won’t be ready for a half marathon, I argued. I’ve been training to race a mile or less.

But I am a good friend and I already missed her first big event of 2012, so how could I miss the second?

So here goes nothing. Do you think I can do it? Do you think I can switch from sprinting to distance in just 6 weeks?

2 Comments

Filed under Running

2 responses to “Can a Sprinter Become a Half Marathoner in Just 6 Weeks?

  1. Pingback: Sally Andersen Fitness

  2. Pingback: Speed Things Up on the Treadmill | Sally Andersen Fitness

Leave a Reply

