Things I Learned From Other Instructors

I love taking every possible fitness class. Sometimes I steal their moves if they do something new. Mostly, I want to be able to give an honest, first-hand opinion on the gym or class when someone asks me. Recently, I have tried quite a few very different workouts around Philadelphia, thanks to sites like Groupon.

Here are a few things that I have learned from my fellow fitness leaders:

1. If you do a move, any move, for 20 minutes straight, you’ll be sore. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good burn the next day, letting me know I worked hard, but I come to class for some creativity and motivation. Repeating push ups, sit ups or whatever for 100+ reps is something anyone could do on their own and something that puts me to sleep.

2. On the flip side, too much creativity can really kill a potentially good workout. I watched a lot of confused, out-of-shape but ready-to-push-themselves women spend time standing, gaping mouth trying to catch on to complicated moves. And then, once they got the hang of it, the move changed completely. If you want me to stand on one foot, hop up and down, and do a bicep curl, maybe start by having me balance on one foot.

3. Classes should not have a script. I don’t care if that’s how you always teach it because that’s how you were told to teach it. If overweight women walk in for their first fitness class ever, you adapt the workout.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Fitness

Leave a Reply

