Speed Things Up on the Treadmill

When your only time to get a run in is 10 p.m. at night, what do you do? It’s an easy out really. Most people wouldn’t call you lazy if just skipped your run that day.

But I have lofty goals for half marathons and meeting my coach’s weekly mileage (which has actually increased to 35 instead of 33 by Saturday)

So last night, a few minutes before 10 p.m., I locked up at work and took off to the gym. I ran 1 mile to get there. My coach gave me a specific treadmill workout that totaled up to 3.1 miles and then I cooled down with .9 miles to get home.

That comes to a total of 5 miles for the day, 16 for the week and 19 more to go in 3 days.

 

My Treadmill Workout:

5 x 1000 meters, a broken down 5k

1000 meters = .62 miles on the treadmill

Each one was faster than the one before: 9.2, 9.3, 9.4, 9.5 and 9.6 mph

In between each one, I took a 4 minute rest

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Running, Workouts

Leave a Reply

