A Healthy Addiction to Sweet Potatoes

Hi, my name is Sally and I’m a new sweet potato addict.

I’ve never disliked the root vegetable, but I also didn’t buy it that much (except at restaurants in the form of French fries!). Between working with Miss Rachel of Miss Rachel’s Pantry (who seems to be a sweet potato addict herself) and hearing from several weight-lifting friends about sweet potatoes being a healthy carb choice, I’ve fully bought in to the hype.

Tonight, I microwaved a large sweet potato, steamed a broccoli crown, and topped the two with olive oil and spices. Delicious! With Rachel, I have been making a lot of pureed veggie soups that include sweet potatoes by boiling all of the veggies until they are soft and then blending them to a smooth consistency.

I am ready to go further. So tell me, what’s your favorite way to nosh on these tubers that are rich in good carbs; fiber; vitamins A, B6 and C, and so much more?

1 Comment

Filed under Nutrition

One response to “A Healthy Addiction to Sweet Potatoes

  1. I loveeee sweet potatoes! I cheat and buy the already cut ones, bake them in the over and eat them as steak fries- just healthier!

Leave a Reply

